Skip to main content

Reset Ella box

Updated 2 min read

Items Needed:

  • Ella Box
  • USB Flash Drive
  • Familiarity with copying files to a USB Flash Drive


What does a reset do?

A factory reset will cause the Ella Box to:

  • Revert to the original version of the software that came with Box from the factory.
  • Reset all networking settings to their defaults. (reverts to DHCP if you had assigned a static IP)
  • Clear the main storage disk of all videos and event metadata.
  • Resetting your device to factory settings will not delete the device configuration, but you will have to reregister the device from the cloud.icrealtech.com/box/register page. Once the device is reregistered it will contain the same camera configuration that it did before the factory reset was performed.

How do I reset my Ella Box?

  1. Insert your USB flash drive into a computer.
  2. Create a blank text file called "reset".
  3. Copy the file called "reset" into the root folder of the flash drive.
  4. Turn off your Ella Box.
  5. Insert the flash drive into one of the USB ports of your Ella Box.
  6. Turn on your Ella Box.
  7. Wait 2 minutes for the reset to complete.
  8. Power off, then remove the USB flash drive and re-power your Ella Box.
  9. The device will now have reverted to factory settings.


Why would I want to reset to factory settings?

This is an advanced feature that most users will never have to use. The purpose of the factory-reset is to recover a Box that is unable to communicate with Smart Ella servers. This could happen if:

  • Box loses power during a firmware upgrade.
  • You change network settings to invalid values that take the Box offline.

Still stuck?

Our support team answers by email. It helps to have these ready:

Model numberSerial numberFirmware or app versionWhat you have tried